Order for Guest
Your shopping cart is empty.

Staff

Brendan Healy
Artistic Director



Originally from Montréal, Brendan began his career as an actor, appearing most notably in Peter Hinton’s production of Greg MacArthur’s Girls! Girls! Girls!, presented at the 2001 TransAmériques Festival. It was at that festival that Brendan met Richard Maxwell, whose company, the New York City Players, is considered to be one of the most influential alternative theatre companies currently operating in Manhattan. That meeting led Brendan to decide to dedicate himself entirely to directing. He left for New York to intern under Mr. Maxwell.

Brendan attended the National Theatre School’s Directing Program and trained extensively with one of the pioneers of the American avant-garde Anne Bogart and the SITI Company before relocating to Toronto. Since then, Brendan has established himself as a central figure in the city’s theatre scene and his work has been presented across the country. “An expert at fascinating and confronting audiences” according to NOW Magazine, Brendan has built a reputation for productions of contemporary texts that are visceral, thought-provoking, and visually arresting. His shows have garnered multiple Dora Mavor Moore Awards and he is a recipient of the Ken McDougall and the Pauline McGibbon awards for directing.

Between 2009-2015, Brendan was the Artistic Director of Buddies in Bad Times Theatre. During his time at Buddies, the company experienced an unprecedented period of artistic success with a string of celebrated productions including PIG, Arigato, Tokyo, Obaaberima, The Silicone Diaries, and Blasted. As critic Paula Citron wrote: “Under Artistic Director Brendan Healy, Buddies has become a major player.” During this time, the company also embarked on four highly-successful national tours that brought Buddies’ work to stages across the country including two stops at the National Arts Centre and an appearance at the Magnetic North Theatre Festival.

Brendan is a regular instructor at the National Theatre School of Canada and he has presented seminars and taught workshops at universities across the country including Concordia University, York University, Brock University, and the University of Lethbridge. He has also contributed to the Canadian Theatre Review. More recently, Brendan completed a Masters in International Arts Management, in a program jointly offered by the Southern Methodist University (Dallas, Texas), l’École des hautes études commerciales (Montréal, Québec), and the SDA Bocconi School of Management (Milan, Italy). He also worked as the Artistic Director for Performing Arts for the City of Brampton, one of Canada’s most diverse and fastest-growing cities.
Monica Esteves
Executive Director



Executive Director Monica Esteves is a seasoned arts manager with over 20 years of professional experience, specializing in capacity building, strategic and business planning, revenue development and financial management.

Prior to joining Canadian Stage, Monica served as Managing Director of Crow's Theatre for nine years. While at Crow's, Monica was responsible for strategy and capacity planning, design development processes, construction/project management, exponential ten-fold growth in earned and contributed revenues, and a successful $12-million capital campaign and a new performing arts facility: Streetcar Crowsnest.

Prior to Crow's Theatre, she was the Producer and General Manager of Nightwood Theatre from 2005 to 2010. Monica oversaw the management of the company, production and operations, and significantly grew annual operations, most notably through increased earned and contributed revenues.

Earlier in her career, Monica has worked for a wide variety of professional theatres including Canadian Stage, Company Theatre, Tarragon Theatre, Stratford Festival, Mirvish Productions, Theatre Passe Muraille, and various festivals and productions. Monica has served on numerous board of directors, including the Professional Association of Canadian Theatre, Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts, and East End Arts. She is a graduate of the National Theatre School of Canada and the Stanford University Graduate School of Business Impact Program for Arts Leaders.

Management Team

Artistic Director
Brendan Healy
bhealy@canadianstage.com
Ext. 334

Executive Director
Monica Esteves
mesteves@canadianstage.com
Ext. 266

Director of Finance and Administration
Susan Bower
sbower@canadianstage.com
Ext. 280

Director of Development
Steven Endicott
sendicott@canadianstage.com
Ext. 274

Director of Production
Elissa Horscroft
ehorscroft@canadianstage.com
Ext. 227

Director of Marketing and Communications
T.J. Tasker
tjtasker@canadianstage.com
Ext. 223
 

Artistic

Producer
Lynanne Sparrow
lsparrow@canadianstage.com
Ext. 271

Associate Artistic Director
Mel Hague
mhague@canadianstage.com
Ext. 244

Company Manager
Beth Wong
bwong@canadianstage.com
Ext. 277

Metcalf Foundation Artistic Director Intern
Tawiah Ben M'Carthy
tmcarthy@canadianstage.com
Ext. 231
 

Finance & Administration

Controller
Sandra Cesario
scesario@canadianstage.com
Ext. 226

Payroll Administrator
Sunitha Rai
srai@canadianstage.com
Ext. 286

Accounts Payable Coordinator
Pathma Mahadeva
pmahadeva@canadianstage.com
Ext. 228

Intermediate Accountant
Kari Seppen
kseppen@canadianstage.com
Ext. 304

Senior Manager, IT Services
Brian Parsons
bparsons@canadianstage.com
Ext. 262

Development

Associate Director, Philanthropy and Donor Engagement
Desiree Chan
dchan@canadianstage.com
Ext. 249

Manager, Individual Giving
Anja Zeljkovic
azeljkovic@canadianstage.com
Ext. 327

Manager, Government Relations and Foundations
Chris Faulkner
cfaulkner@canadianstage.com
Ext. 272

Manager, Special Events
Mark-Ché Devonish
mdevonish@canadianstage.com
Ext. 358
 

Marketing and Communications

Associate Director of Audience Services
April Moon
amoon@canadianstage.com
Ext. 261

Associate Director of Communications
Cathy Paine
cpaine@canadianstage.com
Ext. 250

Graphic Design Manager
Ted Glaszewski
tedg@canadianstage.com
Ext. 243

Content Marketing Manager
Nathan Kelly
nkelly@canadianstage.com
Ext. 259

Marketing Manager
Denais Peluch
dpeluch@canadianstage.com
Ext. 230

Audience Development and Enrichment Manager
Scott Leaver
sleaver@canadianstage.com
Ext. 308

Patron Systems Administrator
Amar Bajracharya
abajracharya@canadianstage.com
Ext. 234

Audience Services Manager
Andrew Markowiak
amarkowiak@canadianstage.com
Ext. 237

Audience Services Assistant Manager
Jeremy Loughton
jloughton@canadianstage.com
Ext. 229

Audience Services Coordinator
Kamini Murthy-Korteweg
kamini@canadianstage.com
Ext. 360

Audience Services Representatives
Gunes Agduk
Reilly Ballantyne-Smith
Faisal Butt
Peter Genoway
Alex Jackson
Rachel Lampreia
Lucy McPhee
Sienna Singh
Amy Swift

Sales Representative
Michael Crumpton
mcrumpton@canadianstage.com
Ext. 260

Front of House Manager
Aws Waham
awaham@canadianstage.com
Ext. 273

Front of House Supervisors
Amanda Clarke
aclarke@canadianstage.com
Shannon Tigart
stigert@canadianstage.com

Bartenders
Nicola Atkinson
Emily Kahle
Seamus Murphy
Bri Proke

Production

Production Manager
Heather Landon
hlandon@canadianstage.com
Ext. 263

Technical Director
Tristan Goethel
tgoethel@canadianstage.com
Ext. 285

Assistant Technical Director
Aidan Ware
aware@canadianstage.com
Ext. 276

Head of Properties
Mary Spyrakis
mspyrakis@canadianstage.com
Ext. 294

Prop Builder
Monica Lee

Head of Wardrobe
Ming Wong
Ext. 279

Cutter
Marlee Bygate

Production Assistant
Colleen Daly
pa@canadianstage.com
Ext. 269

Building Operations Manager
Peter Velocci
pvelocci@canadianstage.com
Ext. 265

Head Technicians
Sally Roberts
sroberts@canadianstage.com
Jon Cunningham

House Technician
Kate Glen

Wardrobe Mistress
Susan Batchelor
 

Board of Directors

Alexandra Baillie
Chair

Sara Angel
Adam Burke
Huw Evans
Councillor Paula Fletcher
Nina Josefowitz
Elaine Kierans
Trina McQueen
John Montesano
Joanne Niblock
Penny Partridge
Vanessa Pfaff
Paul Sabourin
Melanie Shishler
Drew Sinclair
Avery Swartz